37 Weeks and OVERDUE!

Heart shaped uterus ultrasound (not mine)

Heart shaped uterus ultrasound (not mine)

I’m officially 37 weeks now and I’m feeling about 3 weeks overdue! This week’s milestone also means we are officially considered full term!! Both of these concepts are uncharted territory for us. Having had 2 previous preemies, Monkey born at 34.5 weeks and LoveBug born at 33.5 weeks, due to my bicornuate/heart shaped uterus (or “effed up uterus” as my bestfriend would say :)) meant I never had that intense anticipation in the final weeks leading up to, or after, our due dates. Now I know how everyone else feels in weeks 39 and 40…and week 41 for the unfortunate few that go overdue.

With both of the boys we found out their gender before they were born. Knowing this would be our last I really wanted to do it “the old fashioned way” and keep the gender a surprise… you know, have that moment at the hospital with everyone waiting for Daddy to come out and say “It’s a boy!” or “It’s a girl!” :) There are so few real surprises in life I wanted to take advantage of this one. When I signed up for not knowing the gender though I fully expected the baby would be here by now. I’m SUPER excited to have kept Little Bean #3 in for so long and wouldn’t change that for the world, but the anticipation of finding out if this baby is a boy or a girl leading up to what I considered our due date (December 12) was bad enough, but this being “overdue” business is killing me!

I’m ready. Any day now.

4 thoughts on “37 Weeks and OVERDUE!

Leave a Reply

