Time to Crack the Whip

whipecardI’m 6 weeks post c-section and have been cleared to “resume regular life” by the doctor which includes, driving, lifting, and well…you know. That’s not the kind if whip cracking I’m talking about here though!

I feel like over the course of the holidays I/we have let a lot of things slide. The holidays themselves do a fine job of screwing up routine all on their own, but during that time I was also supposed to be on rest so we were letting things go even more so. Then it was the New Year and a newborn (which also does a fine job of screwing up routines) plus I was post c-section and not to be exerting any extra effort outside of caring for the baby. I am so, so, SO thankful to have had my husband home during this time. I honestly have no idea how I would have managed the 2 boys and BabyGirl, who breastfeeds what seems like hourly and refuses to sleep at night, without him. Hubby took care of absolutely everything (with the exception of the occasional dinner :)) allowing me to focus completely on our little Peanut. All that being said there are some things we really need to crack the whip on with these little Monsters!

Monkey (4yrs old):

  • Wiping his own butt (seriously, I could do with 1 less bum to clean around here!)
  • Create a few age appropriate chores like making his bed every morning and putting his dishes in the dishwasher
  • Work on his table manners

LoveBug (2yrs old):

  • Brushing his own teeth morning and night
  • EATING REAL FOOD!
  • Sock intervention (more on that another day)

Peanut (6 weeks old):

  • Well there’s only so much you can ask of a newborn, but I’d like us to work on a feeding routine starting with consistently feeding at 4:00pm and 6:30pm. If we can feed at those times every day it would work around the boys dinner time of 5:30pm and bed time of 7:00pm so that I am free to handle those

Another major area we’ve slacked off on for both the boys is their learning opportunities and structured lessons. With so much going on lately it has been easier to just do things for the boys rather than taking the time to help them learn to do it on their own.

Now that life feels like it is finally starting to normalize post holidays and postpartum it’s time to crack the whip!

4 thoughts on “Time to Crack the Whip

  1. pennypinchingpeach says:

    I know the feeling of being overwhelmed with everything post-c-section and needing to exert some control back into the household. I had a very traumatic pregnancy this last time, culminating in a c-section, emergency surgery and my baby in the NICU for a week. Thankfully, my nana came to stay with us for a few weeks after we came home, since I couldn’t even take care of myself, much less my children. My three year old was completely off kilter, after months of a mommy on bedrest, a week with grandparents and a new baby brother. My son wanted to breast feed almost 24/7, also. The breastfeeding part usually gets more spaced out somewhere between 3 and 4 months. It feels like an eternity, but that’s when both of mine were able to be spaced out easily. Anyway, have fun with your monsters! :)

    • My3Monsters says:

      Sounds like you had quite an experience! I can really sympathize with you. All of my pregnancies were high risk and involved some level of rest or bed rest, they were all c-sections and premature, and the first 2 spent some time in the NICU as well. Everyone is happy and healthy now though! I wish you all the best!

      • pennypinchingpeach says:

        High risk pregnancies are scary! It’s worth it when everything and everyone turns out okay, but I don’t think the experience ever leaves you. Even more so if your child winds up in the NICU. I’m glad everyone is happy and healthy there. :)

Leave a Reply

