Pinterest Challenge May: Rainy Day Activities

Ok so I’m a little bit late getting this up, oops! We had a bunch of rainy days at the cottage at the end of May so I was looking for some more rainy day activities to do with the boys. We did Baking Soda Science again, which has turned out to be a favourite (maybe the enormous box of baking soda wasn’t such a bad idea after-all), and we also tried homemade play-dough and ‘the tie-dyed milk experiment’ (another activity which I had to make up a name for).

Homemade Play-Dough

I had to work with what we already had in the cottage and I did not have cream of tartar so I used this recipe from The Fabulous Mom’s Guide which doesn’t involve cooking and indicates that cream of tartar is optional.

20130612-112023.jpg

Helping mix up the dough

Now, I don’t know if they made a typo or if I can’t measure, but I had to add sooooo much more flour to even get close to the right texture. I even had to keep flouring the table and the kids hands at first so that the dough wouldn’t stick to them. I have to say though that it has kept very well. I put it in some tupperware and each time the kids want to use it I just have to add more flour, which kinda works out ’cause it’s like the never-ending play-dough…it actually keeps getting bigger!

20130612-112044.jpg

Homemade play-dough in primary colours

20130612-112426.jpg

Loving it!

Here is my recipe, and I would keep extra flour close by too until you get the consistency just right.

Homemade Play-Dough

  • 2 cups plain flour
  • 1/2 cup of salt
  • 3/4 cups of boiling water
  • 1 tablespoons of cooking oil
  • Food colouring

Put all the ingredients in a large bowl and mix with a spoon until it starts to stiffen a bit. Finish mixing by hand adding additional flour as needed.

20130612-112446.jpg

Play-dough mixed to get secondary colours

Also, a few days later Monkey and I split it up and mixed the primary colours (red, yellow, blue) to make the secondary colours (purple, green, orange….ok my orange is kinda brown, but you get the point!).

Next we tried this other science type activity where you layer food colouring on top of milk in a pan and drip other liquids into it to see what happens. The pin from Pinterest only linked to a photo so I had to figure some of it out as we went, including a name for it:

The Tie-dyed Milk Experiment

I set up the activity without refreshing my memory on it and ended up using cooking oil instead of dish soap. It worked well with the oil, but something just didn’t feel quite right so I looked it up and it was supposed to be dish soap. Both worked about the same, just with a slightly different effect. The dish soap had a way more dramatic reaction in the pan, but you couldn’t drip it as many times as the oil before it got diluted and didn’t work. Neither of them last all that long so if you’re looking to kill some time I would go ahead and try both.

20130612-205705.jpg

Left: Oil / Right: Dish Soap

20130612-112814.jpg

Food colouring drops on top of milk

20130612-205722.jpg

Left: with Oil / Right: with Dish Soap

20130612-112901.jpg

Swirling it around at the end

The Tie-dyed Milk Experiment

  • 1/2 inch of milk in a pan
  • Food colouring
  • Toothpicks
  • Cooking oil and/or dish soap

Pour 1/2 inch of milk in a pan. Drip 2-3 drops of food colouring per spot around the pan. Dip a “magic toothpick” in either cooking oil or dish soap then dip the toothpick into the centre of a colour spot and watch it shoot around the pan. Then dip the toothpick into a white spot in the milk and alternate. Once the pan was too diluted to have a reaction anymore Monkey still had fun swirling the colours around the pan…until it turned into purplish-brown milk :)

Leave a Reply

