Favourite Christmas Songs

Much like the rest of my musical library my Christmas music is quite an eclectic collection, haha. I have over 5 hours of Christmas music, and strangely I’m always looking for more! I recently posted to Facebook asking my friends to share their favourite Christmas tunes and I got some great songs/artists that I didn’t know about. I also promised to share my favourites so I tried to come up with a top 10, but there were just too many songs that I love, so I’ve split my list into classic Christmas favourites and modern Christmas favourites and I manged to get it down to a top 7 or 8 of each. I actually googled some of the songs to make sure I had my facts right and I was totally surprised to find that Bruce Springsteen and Madonna weren’t the originals on their songs. I always thought they had written them! And I was shocked to find that Britney Spears actually wrote Santa Can You Hear Me (not really a Britney fan, but I love this song!). So here they are for your listening enjoyment :)

Classic Christmas Favourites (though not necessarily preformed by the classics :)

  • Christmas In Killarney – Bing Crosby or Irish Rovers
  • Santa Baby – Madonna
  • Baby It’s Cold Outside – Jessica Simpson
  • I’ll Be Home For Christmas – Bing Crosby
  • Merry Christmas Baby – Bruce Springsteen
  • Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas – Frank Sinatra
  • White Christmas – Michael Buble & Shania Twian
  • Rudolph The Red Nosed Reindeer – Gene Autry

Modern Christmas Favourites

  • The 12 Days Of Christmas – Straight No Chaser
  • Santa Can You Hear Me – Britney Spears
  • I Won’t Be Home For Christmas – Blink182
  • My Grown Up Christmas List – Kelly Clarkson
  • All I Want For Christmas Is You – Mariah Carey
  • I Want An Alien For Christmas – Fountains of Wayne
  • Green Christmas – Barenaked Ladies

These lists are in no particular order, but I have to say my top 2 songs overall would be Santa Baby by Madonna and The 12 Days of Christmas by Straight No Chaser followed by anything by Bing Crosby. What are your favourite Christmas songs? Please post your favourites (with the artist you prefer), I’d love to check them out!

Leave a Reply

