Wisconsin Bucket List

When I found out 18 months ago that we would be moving to Wisconsin, even with my limited knowledge about the state, there were a few things that immediately came to mind that I knew I wanted to do and see during our time here (hello, Young and the Restless is staged in Genoa City, Wisconsin!). Then as I started to research the area we would be living in there were a bunch more great things I really wanted to experience while we were here. And so, The Wisconsin Bucket List was created.

Now as I am finding out that we are leaving Wisconsin with only a few weeks to prepare (more on that another day!), I’m packing for a trip to Florida, packing to move and trying to squeeze in a few more items off of my list.  Sadly, I haven’t done any of my top 5. I’m not sure how much I can accomplish in the short time we have left, but I’d hate to leave here saying I never experienced this things!

  1. Take a picture at the Genoa City limit sign (hello, Young and the Restless!)
  2. Eat breakfast at Frank’s Diner (as seen on Diner’s, Drive Ins, and Dives)
  3. Go to Chicago with the kids
  4. Go to Chicago without the kids
  5. Tour the Jelly Belly factory

We still experienced quite a lot in our year and a half living in “America’s Dairy Land”. All of the experiences we have checked off the list have been great. My top 3 things we have discovered in Wisconsin are:

Rendez-vous Tiki Bar quickly became a favourite spot

Rendez-vous Tiki Bar

Visiting the Dinosaur Discovery Museum

Dinosaur Discovery Museum

America's Action Territory with the boys

America’s Action Territory

 

 

 

 

 

 

There wasn’t one thing though that didn’t live up to or surpass our expectations. If you’re ever in the Kenosha, Wisconsin area check them out! (See what else we did in the gallery below the list). Now let’s see what we can squeeze in in less than 2 weeks!

Wisconsin Bucket List

  • Take a picture at the Genoa City limit sign (hello, Young and the Restless!)
  • Go to a Green Bay Packers Game √ (I only get this one by proxy through my husband :( )
  • Eat deep fried cheese curds
  • Drink Wisconsin beer √
  • Eat breakfast at Frank’s Diner (as seen on Diner’s, Drive Ins, and Dives)
  • Eat at The Spot Drive In
  • Go to Chicago with the kids
  • Go to Chicago without the kids
  • Tour the Jelly Belly factory
  • Visit the lighthouse on Lake Michigan √
  • Tour the Mars Cheese Castle √
  • Visit the Dinosaur Discovery Museum √
  • Visit the Kenosha Public Museum (Natural History) √
  • Take the kids to America’s Action Territory (I just love the name!) √
  • Get a flight of wine at The Wine Knot √
  • Go to Rendez-Vous tiki bar √
  • Go dancing at the only nightclub in Kenosha, Club Icon √
  • Take a picture at Bong Recreation Area (I don’t even, but seriously, who approved this signage?)√
  • Take the kids to Noah’s Ark Waterpark (largest water park in America)
  • Go to the Racine zoo √
  • Order from the Trailer Park Boys menu at Captain Mike’s √ (Also by proxy through my husband)
  • Survive a Wisconsin winter! √

(And yes I realize √ is not a check mark, but it was the best I could find lol!)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

